NOMINATIONS NOW OPEN: To be eligible for nomination, you have to be nominated by a member and seconded by a member. To view eligibility and what is required for the on-line application click here

The Association of American Physicians (AAP) is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by the Canadian physician Sir William Osler and six other distinguished physicians of his era for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Election to the AAP is an honor extended to physicians with outstanding credentials in basic or translational biomedical research and is limited to 70 persons per year. The AAP includes about 1200 active members and 700 emeritus and honorary members. The great majority are US citizens. However, other countries are also represented. The overarching goals of the AAP include the promotion of professional and social interaction among biomedical scientists, the dissemination of important information related to biomedical science and teaching, the recognition of outstanding, diverse physician-scientists through membership, and the establishment of role models to kindle new generations of high achievers in medicine and medical science. The AAP annually honors selected scientists with the George M. Kober medal for outstanding contributions to medicine or medical science. In addition, the George M. Kober Lectureship is given every third year by an outstanding physician-scientist selected by the AAP Council. The AAP held its first meeting in 1886. Some of the most important advances in biomedical science were first reported at annual AAP meetings. These included the discovery of insulin by Banting and Macleod in 1922, and the discovery, by Minot and Murphy in 1926, that pernicious anemia could be treated by feeding patients extracts of raw liver. Members of the AAP have included Nobel laureates, and members of the United States National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine. Living members of the AAP who have also been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine include Michael S. BrownJoseph L. Goldstein, William G. Kaelin, Jr, Robert J. Lefkowitz, Barry J. Marshall, Stanley B. Prusiner, Peter Ratcliffe, and  Gregg L. Semenza.

2023 Nomination Schedule

  • July 14, 2022 - Nominations Open
  • October 14, 2022 - Nominations Deadline
  • October 18, 2022 - Letters of Support Open
  • November 09, 2022 - Letters of Support Deadline
  • November 22, 2022 - Reviews Open for Council
  • January 16, 2023 - Council Deadline
  • February 01, 2023 - Council Meeting
  • February 03, 2023 - Council Meeting Ends
  • February 14, 2023 - Annual Ballot
  • March 06, 2023 - Ballot Deadline

2023 AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting

April 21-23, 2023

The next AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meeting will be held from April 21-23, 2023 at the Swissôtel Chicago. The 2023 Planning Committee is looking forward to another excellent program that includes outstanding scientific sessions and provides a forum for discussion of policy and career issues relevant to physician-scientists.  For further information on the meeting visit:

Upcoming Meetings

AAP/ASCI/APSA Joint Meetings

April 5-7, 2024
Swissôtel Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

2022 President

Daniel P. Kelly, MD


2022 Elected Members