The Association of American Physicians is a nonprofit, professional organization founded in 1885 by seven physicians, including Dr. William Osler, for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” Now the Association is composed of over 1300 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries. The goals of its members include the pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine. Each year, individuals having attained excellence in achieving these goals, are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.

To view what is required in the on-line application click here

2017 Nomination Schedule

  • July 20, 2016 - Nominations Open
  • October 15, 2016 - Nominations Deadline
  • October 22, 2016 - Letters of Support Open
  • November 15, 2016 - Letters of Support Deadline
  • November 19, 2016 - Reviews Open for Council
  • January 26, 2017 - Council Deadline
  • February 11, 2017 - Council Meeting
  • February 12, 2017 - Council Meeting Ends
  • February 25, 2017 - Annual Ballot
  • March 21, 2017 - Ballot Deadline

2016 ASCI/AAP Joint Meeting
April 15-17, 2016
The Fairmont – Chicago, Illinois

The next ASCI/AAP Joint Meeting is April 15-17, 2016 at the Fairmont Hotel in Chicago, Illinois. The 2016 Planning Committee is looking forward to another excellent program that includes outstanding scientific sessions and provides a forum for discussion of policy and career issues relevant to physician-scientists. 

To register for the meeting go to:

Upcoming Meetings

ASCI/AAP 2016 Joint Meeting

April 15-17, 2016
The Fairmont Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

ASCI/AAP 2017 Joint Meeting

April 21-23, 2017
The Fairmont Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

ASCI/AAP 2018 Joint Meeting

April 20-22, 2018
The Fairmont Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

2016 Presidential Address

Christine E. Seidman, MD

View more publications

2016 Elected Members